Medford High School and Medford Vocational Technical High School
Classes begin Tuesday, January 15, 2019 in Room B-217 promptly after school.
Application forms are available at the High School and Vocational School Main Offices.
Completed registration forms are located in the main and vocational offices and must be returned directly to Mrs. Trofimow after school in Room V212 or to Mrs. Flaherty in the Vocational School Office.
A $200 deposit (bank check or money order only) should accompany the registration form. Payment can also be made by epayment that is available on this website. Please forward a copy of the receipt of epayment to Mrs. Trofimow. The class will be filled on a first come, first served basis.
Driver Education has been a part of Medford High School for over 50 years. It is offered, by vote of the Medford School Committee, to students attending Medford High School and the Medford Vocational School. The program is licensed by the Massachusetts Registry of Vehicles and all teachers are licensed by both the Massachusetts Department of Education and the Registry of Motor Vehicles. A mandatory fee that sustains the program is required of all participating students.
– Eligibility for First Semester (Sept. to Dec.): the student must be 16 years of age by Dec. 31.
– Eligibility for Second Semester (Jan. to June): the student must be 16 years of age by June 30.
The MHS course is in full compliance with the new requirements outlined below:
– 30 hours of class instruction (RMV approved curriculum)
– 1 class for parent/guardian (mandatory)
– 12 hours of road instruction and 6 hours of observation
A mandatory 2 Hour Parent Class is scheduled twice each semester. One evening and one Saturday class will be available. Dates will be announced to your child.
The MHS Driver Education Program is self-sustaining and every effort is made to keep it affordable, therefore a fee is necessary.
Fee: Currently $649 (may be paid in installments)
Installment 1: $200 by first class
Installment 2: $449 before road instruction
When road lessons are complete, a $20.00 fee is due to the RMV for the certificate prior to booking a road test appointment.
Only Money Orders, Bank Checks, and Epayments (link) can be accepted (no personal checks) made payable to “Medford Public Schools.” No refunds after the second class meeting.
Class meetings (20) are after school (2:30 pm) Tuesdays and Thursdays in Room B-217.
Once full payment has been made and a Learner’s Permit has been obtained, driving and observation hours are scheduled for after school. Weekends, and vacations may be available by arrangement.
All class (30 hours), driving (12 hours), and observation requirements (6 hours) must be completed, (along with the $20.00 payment) before an RMV Driver Education Certificate can be issued. Absences must be made up.
Enrollment is limited and demand is high. The class will be filled on a first come, first served basis.
ATTENTION STUDENTS AND PARENTS: As per Mass. Law and RMV regulations, all students have only 2 years to complete all the requirements to become certified as having taken Driver Education. This begins on the date of your first class.
Further information may be obtained through email: LTrofimow@medford.k12.ma.us.
Source: Medford Public Schools, https://www.medfordpublicschools.org/2018/12/06/drivers-education/